Boquete Panama

Cool, Green and the best Coffee in the world

As you may or may not know, I am a First Aid Instructor and will be teaching that subject to the volunteers of SINAPROC after the holidays. If you have some expertise, particularly regarding snakes and other poisonous animals in regards to first aid treatment, please contact me.
I welcome all help and encourage you to contribute to the local community in whatever way you can.

Tags: Animals, Poisonous

Views: 864

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Roger, as you know, I initiated a talk on venomous snakes of Panama earlier this year and it was well attended. I am preparing a 'common sense' paper on this subject and will post it here in the near future. This is a yellow sidestriped pit-viper. You dont want to be this close to this snake!!! I found it in Potrerillos Arriba this summer.
I'd like to have pictures of every type of snake in Chiriqui and bite treatment, which I assume is pretty much the same for each type. The key is knowing how much time the victim has from bite to death - which is affected by how active the snake has been.
The initial training will be SINAPROC, however subsequent training will be police and Bomberos.
As someone who is totally new to snakes and bad bugs (I am in the UK), what are the chances of getting bitten/dying from a snake bite? Is it a common issue?

In the UK, we only have a couple of things that sting, i.e. bees and wasps. But I haven't seen any bees or wasps in years.....and was only ever bitten once (by a wasp). We don't have anything deadly here. Thus when I move over to Panama later this year, I am gonna be walking on eggshells, until I figure out my new environment's dangers/risks.

(BTW - great forum)