location.href = 'https://boquete.ning.com/';

The $517 Residency Visa

Olga is a great source for everything Panama, and especially with all things related to getting residency visas.  There have been many posts lately regarding residency visas and I thought they were a little hard to follow.  So I tried to make sense of them, and went to Migracion in David, and tried to put all of the information in one place, for my own understanding.  I just decided I would post it, in case anyone else out there is confused.  I am not a lawyer.

This is my understanding of what is going on right now - which is about the same as what became law June 3, 2016.

The article that Olga posted last week is here again:

http://www.tvn-2.com/nacionales/Establecen-requisitos-extranjeros-regularizacion-migratoria_0_4718528112.html

The new Decreto 145, March 24, 2017 referenced in above article is here:

https://www.gacetaoficial.gob.pa/pdfTemp/28243_B/60451.pdf

It does 2 things:

1.  Officially ends the Crisol de Razas by overturning Decreto 547, July 25, 2012:

MMINISTERIO DE SEGURIDAD PÚBLICA
Decreto Ejecutivo Nº 547
(De miércoles 25 de julio de 2012)
QUE SE ESTABLECE EL PROCEDIMIENTO Y LOS REQUISITOS DE LOS PROCESOS DE REGULARIZACIÓN MIGRATORIA EXTRAORDINARIA DENOMINADO "PANAMÁ, CRISOL DE
RAZAS".

2.  Changes the language (ever so slightly) of the 4 points of Article 2 of Decreto 167 from June 3, 2016, below:

http://www.migracion.gob.pa/images/PAGINA%20WEB%20EFRAIN/2016/DECRETOS/Decreto%20167%203%20junio%202016.pdf

Article 3 of Decreto 167 (above) lists the 7 actual requirements necessary to get the "$517 Visa" - which have not changed recently - they were established in this Decreto 167, June 3, 2016.

If one gets this Visa it is a 2 year Visa.  I don't see anything and wouldn't even try to guess what might be required to extend the visa after 2 years.